top of page

Exclusive Basketball Interview

by: Fatima Adams


As we all know, every year, there is a traditional homecoming game that takes place between Bronx Preparatory Charter High School and Democracy Prep High School. Every year, Democracy Prep reigns victorious, but this year, everyone had their hopes up high,. This was our year! Bronx Prep students were ready to bring it home this year. Unfortunately, due to many things, cheating being one of them and lets not forget about the bottle throwing or the flying middle fingers (read Mayelins article for further info), Democracy Prep won, AGAIN. They won both the boys and girls game, but the cheerleaders made everyone proud (again, read Mayelins article). After the game, some players were interviewed and this is what they had to say.


When asked “despite some mistakes made on the court today, what do you think you can do to tighten it up for your next game against DP”, Abdul responded “ You know just cook them, you know, play defense, playhard and you know, don’t foul”. Alexandro responded “what the team and I can change to tighten it up for the next game against BP is have more pressure on D and rebounds. We have lots of offensive threats on our team so scoring is gonna come easy for us in the end”. Julio responded, “I feel like next time we are going to play harder and with heart and play as a team.

When asked, “Why did you join the basketball team this year?”, Abdul responded,”Because you know, I felt the obligation you know, to play, because I always play each year.”Alex responded, “I joined the basketball team this year because I’ve always loved basketball and it makes me feel like I’m free and it brings me joy all the time.” Julio responded, “To make a difference.”


When asked, “Were you involved last year?” Abdul responded.”Yup” Alex responded, “Last year I wasn't involved but this year was different because I actually worked to gain my starting spot after not making vars last year.” Julio responded “Yes”.

When asked, “How is this year different if at all?”, Abdul said “um there is more togetherness, you know more you know, team vibes, there is no separation, we play for each other.” Alex responded, “We have a new coach, we have better chemistry, our coaches teach us how to play basketball.” Julio responded “ Because this year we are taking the championship.”

Since its his final year, Abdul was asked, “ Do you think that you will be the victors for you next game against DP?” Abdul responded, “Yeah I have faith next year they’re gonna do their thing, I’m not gonna play next year, I feel like they’re gonna beat them.”


41 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All

Commentaires


bottom of page